Celebrate, Now {don’t wait for tomorrow}

November 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

“Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are.  Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart.  Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow.  Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return.” ~ Mary Jean Irion

Image

the change of the seasons. 

a birthday.

delicious food.

a first day at school.

finishing.

starting.

overcoming a fear.

getting a promotion.

fridays.

a good night’s sleep.

bonfire night.

christmas eve.

christmas.

having friends, good friends.

an anniversary.

valentines.

thanksgiving.

pancake day.

I have been told that when you start your very own family and begin building a home, you can choose the culture of that family {to an extent, I’m sure.} It doesn’t matter if your upbringing was crappy, or amazing, or a mixture of both. It doesn’t define you that your father didn’t tell you he loved you, or that your mother told you it but never meant it. This new unit is yours and you have the opportunity to create something beautiful.

Considering this, I have decided that one thing I want to do as a family is celebrate life. I know that most days are pretty mundane (I add up the cost of bathrooms for a living!) and that life is a bit grumpy/rainy/average most of the time. BUT, I also believe that life is what you make of it. And I want to make mine as magical as possible. For us, this means celebrating the little things as well as the big things. It means popping a bottle of champagne just because it’s the end of the week. It means taking lots of photos and sticking them into a big book for each year of our marriage. It means covering my living room in leaves and candles when Autumn comes. It means making mojitos on a wintery Monday evening because our neighbour has some expensive rum from Brazil and wants to try it. It means saying thank you before eating, and saying well done when something is won, and running to get home so we can be together again. It means making a huge batch of pancakes with ten different toppings, knowing we will never eat them all. It means buying a big tree and enjoying every bit of the lead up to Christmas, just because. 

We are walking through some tough things right now – health wise, work wise, money wise. I look at the news, I read my latest textbook, I think about the brothels filling the streets of this city and the darkness of the world threatens to destroy me. And don’t get me wrong, the tears still fall and my heart still aches. But, I am also aware that I live in the light of a great freedom won for me and I don’t want to waste it. Call me cheesy, or naive, but us Van Nes’ are going to enjoy the ride as much as we can, cherishing what we have and learning what is it to be truly thankful. Yes Yes please.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Celebrate, Now {don’t wait for tomorrow} at Deborah Caldicott.

meta

