Dreaming Until I Awake

December 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

“Dreams are illustrations from the book your soul is writing about you.” Marsha Norman

This is the quote that wordpress has shared with me today. Reading it, I found myself hoping that it isn’t true – for if it is, my soul is a bad writer. And my story is a sad one. There are so many thoughts about dreams – unfulfilled desires, chemical reactions to the day’s events, memories unfolding in a hazy mess, hauntings from the depth of your soul where fear lurks. Many theories, and no real answer.

The ones that haunt me are strange, confusing, unwanted, and heavy. They are not illustrations I am proud of; not the kind of sketches that highlight children’s books and delight the heart.

I disagree with Marsha Norman. Dreams are not illustrations from the book of my soul. They are attacks from an enemy that lurks in the dark, and seeks to destroy my peace. I will fight him off in a prayer for dreamless nights.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dreaming Until I Awake at Deborah Caldicott.

meta

